The Bayer 04 Leverkusen football club team has already achieved second place several times, hence the name “Vizekusen”. This has finally changed in 2024.

Bayer 04 Leverkusen: The beginnings

Bayer 04 Leverkusen has been an integral part of the former for more than 40 years. Bundesligathey have been playing there non-stop since 1979. Only Borussia Dortmund and the fc Bayern Munich can be found consistently in the German top league for a long time.

The club was founded on July 1, 1904, at that time under the name “Turn- und Spielverein der Farbenfabriken vorm”. Friedrich Bayer Co. in Leverkusen.” Gymnastics was only moderately well received by men at the time,
However, it received more enthusiasm.

A good decision by the athletes of that time: the North Rhine-Westphalian football club has been able to celebrate several sporting successes in recent years, both in Germany and abroad.

Leverkusen trophies

Bayer 04 Leverkusen won their first title in 1988 The football club was able to win the UEFA Cup prevail and take home the coveted trophy.

Even before the semi-finals of the competition it was clear that a German team would reach the final: Bayer 04 faced Werder Bremen. In the final the club played against them. Spanish Espanyol Barcelona team. It was a real football thriller that was finally decided in the penalty shootout.

Five years later, in 1993, Bayer 04 Leverkusen won another major trophy. There the team had the coveted DFB Cup in their hands. In the final, Bayer 04 beat the then amateur club Hertha BSC Berlin 1-0. Throughout the club's sporting career, it was the only time so far that the DFB Cup has won.

Well known: that's where “Vizekusen” comes from

First place in the Champions League Bayer 04 has not yet acquired him. However, they had already reached the final once in 2002, but Real Madrid finally beat them 2-1.

Shortly before, they lost the DFB Cup final against Schalke 04 and also finished second in the Bundesliga. Since Bayer 04 Leverkusen almost won three times and reached second place in the 2002 season, the name “Vizekusen” arose, which can still be heard today.

Bayer 04 Leverkusen has occupied second place in the Bundesliga standings several times: in 1997, 1999, 2000, 2002 and 2011 they narrowly missed the title. Until this year 2024, the club has not yet won the German championship. But that has changed in the 2023/24 season change.

Bayern Munich's dominance is gone: Leverkusen are champions

FC Bayern Munich has won the champion title every year since 2012. But this series will end in 2024. With a 5-0 victory against Werder Bremen, the coach's team won Xabi Alonso the Bundesliga championship title five days before the end of the 23/24 season. This is the first championship title in the history of the Bayer 04 Leverkusen club.


302 Found



The document has been temporarily moved.