Jordan Spieth will serve the remainder of Rory McIlroy’s term as player director of the PGA Tour’s policy board.

PGA Commissioner Jay Monahan announced the change in tour members on Monday.

The term extends through the end of 2024. Spieth’s selection was voted on by the other five player managers: Tiger Woods, Patrick Cantlay, Charley Hoffman, Peter Malnati and Webb Simpson.

“With Rory McIlroy Upon resigning from the PGA Tour Policy Board last week, per PGA Tour Tournament Regulations, the five remaining Player Directors have elected Jordan Spieth to serve the remainder of Rory’s term, which expires at the end of 2024. , Monahan wrote to members, according to an email obtained by Golf Channel.

“Jordan has extensive experience in the Tour’s governance process, having served two years on the Player Advisory Council (2017-18), including PAC Chair in 2018, and three years (2019-21) as Player Director. “.

McIlroy resigned last week saying he wanted to spend less time involved in golf politics. He also acknowledged that the agreement between the PGA Tour and the DP World Tour with the Saudi Public Investment Fund, which backs LIV Golf, on future cooperation affected his role on the board.

“I like to be busy but I like to be busy doing my thing,” McIlroy said. “It got to the point where I couldn’t fit it all together. I think as we move into next year, as I try to prepare for Augusta and all those tournaments, I just can’t see myself. putting the time and energy into it. If I feel that I am not prepared to attend those meetings, then it will be better if someone else takes my place and can dedicate time and energy to it.

“The day has a limited number of hours and the week has a certain number of days and right now I have a lot of things to do in my life. Between trying to be a world-class golfer and trying to be a good husband and father, I have a growing investment portfolio that takes up more and more of my time.”

Spieth, 30, has won the title 13 times. PGA Tour with important victories in the Masters (2015), US Open (2015) and The Open (2017).

18 be