How and when will Bayer Leverkusen be German champions? Given the 16-point lead, the former appears to be the case. Bundesliga-The title in the club's history is just a matter of time. There are several constellations that make this possible: Saturday and Sunday.

A scenario for Saturday: how Bayer Leverkusen become German champions this weekend

Bayer Leverkusen will be champions on Saturday,…

…if that FC Bayern (against 1. FC Köln) and VfB Stuttgart (against Eintracht Frankfurt).

Bayer Leverkusen will be champions on Sunday,…

…if they win against Werder Bremen.

…if they draw against Werder Bremen and FC Bayern and VfB Stuttgart do not win on Saturday.

Teacher on the couch? Only one club has achieved it in the last 15 years

Therefore, it is possible that coach Xabi Alonso's team can celebrate the title on the sofa. When and how did these teams become German champions in the last 15 years? An overview – the sofa masters are marked in bold:

2022/23: Bayern beat 1. FC Köln 2-1 on matchday 34

2021/22: FC Bayern with a 3-1 victory against Borussia Dortmund on matchday 31

2020/21: FC Bayern and Borussia Dortmund beat RB Leipzig 3-2 on matchday 32

2019/20: Bayern beat Werder Bremen 1-0 on matchday 32

2018/19: Bayern beat Eintracht Frankfurt 5-1 on matchday 34

2017/18: Bayern beat FC Augsburg 4-1 on matchday 29

2016/17: Bayern beat VfL Wolfsburg 6-0 on matchday 31

2015/16: Bayern beat FC Ingolstadt 2-1 on matchday 33

2014/15: FC Bayern with a 1-0 victory for Borussia Mönchengladbach against VfL Wolfsburg on matchday 30

2013/14: Bayern beat Hertha BSC 3-1 on matchday 27

2012/13: Bayern beat Eintracht Frankfurt 1-0 on matchday 28

2011/12: Borussia Dortmund with a 2-0 victory against Borussia Mönchengladbach on matchday 32

2010/11: Borussia Dortmund with a 2-0 victory against 1. FC Nürnberg on matchday 32

2009/10: Bayern beat Hertha BSC 3-1 on matchday 34

2008/09: VfL Wolfsburg with a 5-1 victory against Werder Bremen on matchday 34


Failed to fetch data from the URL.